Keeper of the Lost Cities Review

| |

A few years back everyone at my school was talking about the series, “Keeper of the Lost Cities” by Shannon Messenger. Part of me was too stubborn to read it, but when I finally gave it a go, I discovered a series that hooked me from the first page. This is one series that I can honestly say that the pace doesn’t slow down and the action never lets up. November 6 marks the release of book seven, Flashback, so the time is now to catch up.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read these books, but let’s just say the wait for the next is torture at its best.

Hobbies on a Budget uses affiliate links in these posts. Click here for a full privacy and disclosure policy.

Keeper of the Lost Cities Review

Keeper of the Lost Cities is about a girl named Sophie Foster who discovers that she is not human but an elf from the Lost Cities. Even in this regard, she’s anything but normal. Sophie is part of a top secret experiment known as Project Moonlark that has given her crazy abilities. These riveting books tell how she learns to fit into a whole new world, try to take down a deadly organization, and discover who she really is. Not to mention that there are secrets in the Lost Cities that make her question everything.

Keeper of the Lost Cities

Keeper of the Lost Cities: Book 1
In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. The reason? Sophie’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. No one knows her secret—at least, that’s what she thinks…

Keeper of the Lost Cities Exile: Book 2
Sophie befriends the mythical Alicorn—and puts her mysterious powers to the test—in this enchanting sequel to Keeper of the Lost Cities.

Sophie is settling in nicely to her new home and her new life in the world of the lost cities. And it helps that living at Havenfield means getting to spend time with rare, precious species—including the first female Alicorn, who shows herself to Sophie and trusts no one but her.

Keeper of the Lost Cities Everblaze: Book 3
Sophie uncovers shocking secrets—and faces treacherous new enemies—in this electrifying third book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is ready to fight back.

Keeper of the Lost Cities Neverseen: Book 4
Sophie battles the rebels—and recovers dark memories from her past—in this jaw-dropping fourth book in the bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is on the run—but at least she’s not alone.

Her closest friends from the Lost Cities have gone with her to join the Black Swan. They still have doubts about the shadowy organization, but the only way to find answers is to start working with them. And as they settle into their new lives, they uncover secrets bigger than anything they’d imagined.

Keeper of the Lost Cities Lodestar: Book 5
Dark schemes unfold—and Sophie’s loyalty is pushed to the limit—in this thrilling fifth book in the bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is back in the Lost Cities—but the Lost Cities have changed. The threat of war hangs heavy over her glittering world, and the Neverseen are wreaking havoc.

The lines between friend and enemy have blurred, and Sophie is unsure whom to trust.

Keeper of the Lost Cities: Nightfall

Sophie and her friends face battles unlike anything they’ve seen before in this thrilling sixth book of the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is struggling. Grieving. Scrambling. But she knows one thing: she will not be defeated.

The Neverseen have had their victories—but the battle is far from over. It’s time to change tactics. Make sacrifices. Reexamine everything. Maybe even time for Sophie to trust her enemies.

Keeper of the Lost Cities: Flashback

Sophie Foster doesn’t know what—or whom—to believe. And in a game with this many players, the worst mistake can be focusing on the wrong threat.

But when the Neverseen prove that Sophie’s far more vulnerable than she ever imagined, she realizes it’s time to change the rules. Her powerful abilities can only protect her so far. To face down ruthless enemies, she must learn to fight.

Connect with Shannon Messenger

Website | Facebook | Instagram

I would suggest this book for anyone ages 11-13, but anyone will enjoy it. This book is NOT a girl book even though the main character is indeed a girl. It is a clean book with a light romance. Also note that in this series genetics play a large role so that is a common subject brought up throughout the books.

Have you read any books in this series? What did you think? I’d love to hear your thoughts!


Spread the love

Similar Posts


  1. This series has been a part of my life since the third grade when my mom picked it up off the shelf and gave it to me. I’ve grown up with Sophie and have counted down the days until the next book comes. My favorite book would either be the the first one or the seventh book, but I can’t choose.

  2. Hello! I haven’t read any books from this series but I have always hope to one day do just that. I really love this review♥️

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.