Avenged Book Review

How do you make life changing decisions? Officer Carly Edwards is feeling the need to make a life change but she has a hard choice. Should she stay a beat cop, move into detective or join a special FBI task force? Staying where she is would be the easy route, but Carly is feeling the need for something a little more challenging. Avenged is a book that has many levels and threads. This is book three in the series but it easily stands on its own. This book is able to pull together themes of gang violence, relationship struggles, career moves and high tension reputation issues.

Avenged (Pacific Coast Justice)

Avenged is the story of a young newly wed who is married to the head of the gang unit. The two of them have to work different sides of the same case and figure out who shot the young gang members.

About the Book

When Officer Carly Edwards finds three young gangbangers shot execution style, she and her husband, Sergeant Nick Anderson, head of the gang unit, fear Las Playas may be on the verge of a gang war. The Las Playas PD is put on high alert as tensions escalate between rival gangs, especially after Carly confiscates weapons from a gang leader and learns they were stolen from a military base along with explosive devices.

But something isn’t adding up, and Carly suspects there might be more going on. As she prepares to testify at a major trial, Carly’s reputation is shredded by a reporter apparently trying to discredit her professionally. Facing pressure on all fronts, Carly must rely on faith and trust God in a deeper way during one of the biggest struggles of her career.

About the author

A retired Long Beach California police officer of 22 years (16 in uniform and 6 as a non-career officer), Janice Cantore worked a variety of assignments, patrol, administration, juvenile investigations and training. During the course of her career in uniform Janice found that faith was indispensable to every aspect of the job and published articles on faith at work, one for a quarterly newspaper called “Cop and Christ”, and another for the monthly magazine “Today’s Christian Woman”.

With retirement Janice began to write longer pieces and several novels were born. Janice is excited and honored to now be a part of the Tyndale Publishing House family. Accused, the first installment in her new suspense offering, The Pacific Coast Justice Series, was released February 1, 2012 and kicked off a brand new chapter in her writing career. In addition to suspense and action, her books feature strong female leads. Janice writes suspense novels designed to keep you engrossed and leave you inspired.

Read all about the first two books in the Pacific Justice Series

I received this book from Tyndale Publishing for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review.

Spread the love

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.